Sunday Lane – Bring Me Sunshine

If there’s anything in the world that I need during these Pittsburgh winters, it’s a little bit of sunshine. Apparently the girl to bring it on is Sunday Lane. From her press release:

Sunday Lane is not your typical singer/songwriter who left Middle America for the City of Angels. A classically trained pianist, she writes articulate lyrics about social injustices in our society, young love, and growing up. Her soulful approach to songwriting expresses the depth of her musicianship.

“I am most in my element when my hands are on the keys,” says the 20-year-old Tulsa native. After receiving tons of critical acclaim in her home state, Sunday Lane decided to pursue the only career path that made sense… music. She is currently attending the Musicians Institute in Hollywood. Sunday has been playing some of the most sought after venues in Los Angeles and winning over new fans nationwide.

Her debut EP, Bring Me Sunshine, displays her ability to write relatable songs with idiosyncratic phrases. With a new music video for her song “Won’t Go Back Down” and her EP available on iTunes, sunshine is definitely in Sunday Lane’s future.

Apparently, her first big hit, “Won’t Go Back Down” is making some serious waves, and I can see why, but “Lack of Color” is the one that catches my ear every time. I’ve had the EP on repeat for a coupled of days now and I’ve gotta say that it’s my fave thus far. Also awesome is “Reckless One”, with an opening piano line that could easily be mistaken for early Tori Amos. She’s got that sweet, yet gravelly voice of perfection and she’s utter confidence on the keys. You might as well just start memorizing the lyrics now, because I’m sure the radio stations are going to be playing her to death soon enough. Check her out for yourself!

“Won’t Go Back Down”

You know what? I really, actually enjoy this album. The more I listen to it, the more I like it. She gets an A. An A for you Sunday Lane! Good job!

You can find out more about Sunday on her Myspace, Facebook, site, or Twitter.

One thought on “Sunday Lane – Bring Me Sunshine

Leave a comment