That Girl With A Blog











{June 11, 2009}   Rhett Miller – Mythologies

Rhett Miller - MythologiesYou will see that I did link to this album on Amazon, but you won’t find it there…

I even tried to find a link on EBay, nothing.

I am a rare album junkie I have decided. It’s an addiction. It started with Y Kant Tori Read and it’s gone to Rhett Miller’s Mythologies. I have tracked this album down and it makes me smile.

This album was released in 1989, making Mr. Miller a mere 18 years old. How. Freaking. Adorable. It’s amazing listening to this album back to back with his new release Rhett Miller. On Mythologies, it’s like a little window into the future of the Old 97’s front man. Naked, acoustic tracks and perhaps a slight British accent on Miller? Who knew. “Iron Child”, “Song for Truman Capote”, and “Still They Sing” easily could have been on The Instigator, Miller’s first well-known solo album. I love his acoustic stuff. I was actually a little disappointed in The Believer for that point, but it did quickly grow on me. I’d love to see him do an acoustic solo show again. Then again, I’m just a sucker for anything acoustic.

He does have a few awkward teen moments with “Honey In My Tea” and “Days Between Stations” but obviously, he can hold his own in the music industry. If you can find one of the 1,000 hand numbered copies, sell a limb. It’s like a fountain of youth in Rhett Miller Land. A!

Rhett Miller’s Site, though you won’t find any mention of this album on there.

Michele says:

Please let me know if you’ll be considering a writer for your weblog. You have some really great posts and I think I would be a good fit. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d really like to write some material
for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
Please send me an email if interested.
Many thanks!



Victoria Jones says:

I have a copy. I went to school with Rhett… let me know if you are interested



Wow, that’s so cool! So, did he talk with that pseudo-English accent or was that saved solely for the album? Haha. Just kidding.
Thank you so much for the offer! I did end up finding a copy. (Shhhh. Don’t tell!) But, I hope you don’t mind if any readers see this and hit you up for it!



Victoria Jones says:

No I don’t mind at all. He was super sweet and we would hang out and he would play his music. He is incredibly nice and very talented. Happy Memories.



I have a copy of this. what do you think it is worth?? I am having an auction and I am looking to sell it. Let me know if you are interested, Annette



Oh man, I don’t even know what that would run. I’d say at least a few hundred dollars in the right market. I’d put it up on EBay to the highest bidder and see what you get!



JY says:

You got your hands on a rarely even heard of Rhett Miller CD and I don’ t have a copy yet? You are so fired.



I only got it yesterday, I promise! You’ll have it soon.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
